Unsubscribing / Re-subscribing a contact


In this article:

  • Instructions on unsubscribing contacts (from both the contact profile and the inbox) to prevent them from receiving any further messages
  • Instructions on resubscribing contacts once they're unsubscribed, to allow them to receive messages


In the previous directSMS portal, Unsubscribing was known as “Blacklisting” and is the equivalent of blocked numbers or blacklisted numbers i.e. someone whom has requested that you don't use their contact details for any further communication.


Unsubscribing a Contact

To Unsubscribe a contact, go to Contacts > All Contacts and search for the contact you wish to unsubscribe, then click on either the contact mobile number, or the three dots to the right of the contact and click “edit”:


In the contact edit screen, click on “Unsubscribed” under “Additional Information” and then click “Save”:


Unsubscribing from the inbox

You can also unsubscribe a user via the inbox by opening the conversation with that contact and clicking on “Unsubscribe” in the top right of the conversation window:


Click “Yes, unsubscribe” on the pop up to confirm the action

 

Re-subscribing a contact

If a contact has been marked as unsubscribed, either by the system automatically or manually by a user, administrators are able to resubscribe the contact manually.

This action should only be taken if:

  • The contact was mistakenly unsubscribed
  • The contact has explicitly requested to be re-subscribed


Re-subscribing from "Contacts"

Go to Contacts > All Contacts


To Re-subscribe a contact, go to Contacts > All Contacts and search for the contact you wish to re-subscribe, then open the contact profile as before:


NOTE – to see only unsubscribed contacts, you can change the “Status” option to “Unsubscribed”:


In the contact edit screen, click on “Subscribed” under “Additional Information” and then click “Save”:

 

Re-subscribing from the inbox

You can also re-subscribe a user via the inbox by opening the conversation with that contact and clicking on “Subscribe” in the top right of the conversation window:


Click “Yes, subscribe” on the pop up to confirm the action:


Not what you're after? Try these articles...